Dinard Park

Country Houses above the Lake – in the Middle of Starnberg

site plan

Starnberg’s qualities are mainly to be found where its format has remained fine in detail and relatively dense. With this in mind, we have taken the country house as a model and developed it to contain either one or two modern, normal, yet very special flats per storey. The slightly varying houses seem to flirt with each other as they offer distant views down towards Lake Starnberg.

A particularly typical feature is a private veranda on the kindergarten and the shared terrace with a broad view on the south side of the plot. The space between the houses is laid out like a park.

The day nursery is on the ground floor of two houses, and the connecting unit is the private veranda on the first floor. Thanks to the distance from the neighbouring property, there is a very useful free space; the boundary wall has espaliers and a climbing wall.

Along Bahnhofstrasse, all the houses are built so that their gables face the road, thus forming a homogeneous urban planning street situation. Along Dinardstrasse, gables alternate with eaves facing the street in a parklike manner.

Façade design and materiality

The colourfulness of the houses develops from the bright sunshine and its reflection on the lake – an issue of light and shade. The result is a bright, white atmosphere.

The solidly built houses have a precise shell: brilliant sgraffito with shimmer effect and wood panelling on the upper storey and the roof underside, refined with a white coat of paint. Generously sized openings give light to the flats; the curtains inside and the folding, sliding shutters veil the building and create a permanent opening and closing fluctuation in the densely built urban situation.

Materialkollage Eingangsbereiche & Treppenhäuser

Arriving and living

Arriving on the site, the resident is greeted by a house-based design of the addresses and entrances followed by a stage-like and well-lit stairway and a generously proportioned hallway all the way to the flat.

The placing of the stairs permits a wide range of residential and living forms. The flats can be enlarged by combining the storeys – particularly at loft level. The solid outer skin of the building is complemented by light partition walls, which enables lofty lifestyles.

The large, floor-to-ceiling sliding windows allow an integration of the exterior with its changing, distant views. On the sides facing the lake there are balconies, and a continuous terrace at roof level.


Project data

Location

Starnberg

Client

Ehret+Klein GmbH, Würmstraße 4, D - 82319 Starnberg

Area

Gross floor space: 3100 m2, 5 houses Living area: 2000 m2, 21 units 1 day nursery: 420 m2, 47 underground parking spaces

Start of construction

2020

Competition team

Frank Feuchtenbeiner, Andrea Frank, Ivaylo Galabov, Simone Schiller

Project team

Frank Feuchtenbeiner (Projektleitung II), Andrea Frank, Egor Goryachv (Projektleitung I), Carlos Moya, Simone Schiller

Gestaltungskonzept

Materialkollage Eingangsbereiche & Treppenhäuser

Materialkollage Fassade

site plan

Der Dinardpark

Landhäuser über dem See - Mitten in Starnberg

Lageplan

Starnberg hat seine Qualitäten vor allem an den Stellen, an denen es kleinteilig und relativ dicht geblieben ist. Aus dieser Erkenntnis heraus haben wir aus dem Typus des Landhauses die Hausgrößen mit ein bis zwei zeitgemäße, normale und doch besondere Wohnungen pro Etage entwickelt. Die jeweils leicht verschiedenen Häuser treten in einen Flirt ein, in dem sie zwischendurch immer wieder weite Blicke den Hang hinunter Richtung Starnberger See öffnen.

Besonderes ortstypisches Merkmal ist eine private Veranda auf dem Kindergarten und die gemeinschaftliche Terrasse mit weitem Blick im Süden des Grundstückes. Der Zwischenraum der Häuser ist parkähnlich angelegt.

Die Kindertagesstätte liegt im EG von zwei Häusern, der Verbindungsbau bildet im 1. OG die private Veranda. Durch das Abrücken von der Grenzbebauung entsteht ein gut nutzbarer Freiraum, die Grenzwand erhält Spaliere und eine Kletterwand.

Entlang der Bahnhofstraße stehen nun alle Häuser giebelständig zur Straße und bilden eine homogene städtebauliche Straßensituation. Entlang der Dinardstraße wechseln sich giebel- und traufständige Häuser parkartig ab.

Fassadengestaltung und Materialität

Die Farbigkeit der Häuser entwickelt sich aus dem hellen Sonnenlicht und der Spiegelung im See ein Thema von Licht und Schatten. Dadurch entsteht eine helle, weiße Atmosphäre.

Die massiv errichteten Häuser bekommen eine präzise Hülle: brillanter Kratzputz mit Glimmereffekt und Holzverkleidung im Obergeschoß und Dachuntersicht, veredelt durch einen weißen Anstrich. Großzügige Öffnungen belichten die Wohnungen, die Vorhänge innen und die Faltschiebeläden Verhüllen das Gebäude und erzeugen einen permanenten Wechsel aus Öffnen und Schließen in der dichten städtebaulichen Situation.

Materialkollage Eingangsbereiche & Treppenhäuser

Ankommen und Wohnen

Die Inszenierung des Ankommens am Grundstück wird über eine aus dem Haus herausgearbeitete Gestaltung der Adressen und Eingänge und über ein bühnenhaftes und belichtetes Treppenhaus bis zur Wohnung inszeniert. Die Wohnungen betritt man über eine möglichst großzügige Diele.

Die Lage des Treppenhauses erlaubt eine Vielfalt von Wohn- und Lebensformen. Die Wohnungen können auch geschossweise zusammengelegt werden – bevorzugt in den Dachgeschoßen. Der Ausbau der massiven Gebäudehülle erfolgt mit leichten Trennwänden, so dass auch loftige Wohnformen möglich sind.

Die großen, geschosshohen Schiebefenster beziehen den Außenraum mit den wechselnden, weiten Blicken in die Wohnung ein. An den Seiten, an denen sich die Gebäude dem See zuwenden sind Balkone angeordnet, im Dach eine durchgehende Terrasse.


Projektdaten

Ort

Starnberg

Bauherr

Ehret+Klein GmbH, Würmstraße 4, D - 82319 Starnberg

Kennzahlen

BGF 3.100 m2, 5 Häuser, WF 2.000 m2, 21 Wohneinheiten, 1 Kita 420 m2, 47 TG Stellplätze

Baubeginn

2020

Wettbewerbsteam

Frank Feuchtenbeiner, Andrea Frank, Ivaylo Galabov, Simone Schiller

Projektteam

Frank Feuchtenbeiner (Projektleitung II), Andrea Frank, Egor Goryachv (Projektleitung I), Sebastian Klich, Carlos Moya, Simone Schiller

Gestaltungskonzept

Materialkollage Eingangsbereiche & Treppenhäuser

Materialkollage Fassade

Lageplan