Preservation and development

Houses, flats, gardens, infrastructure: the transformation of the Maikäfersiedlung

Concept

What should be done when housing estates start to show their age and urgently need to be compacted and modernised? The Maikäfersiedlung in Munich – an over 12 hectare large area in the south of the city – is a prime example of the implementation of this urban challenge. In close cooperation with the housing association and the tenants, a lively urban quarter has been created over the last 10 years, a district characterised by its density and diversity. The urban masterplan for the estate from zillerplus architects laid the basis for the restructuring and its new buildings. The leitmotiv was always the improvement of the quality of life and living.

The starting point of the planning was a housing estate built in the 1930s, distinguished for its small kitchen gardens. The large number of ladybirds (German: Maikäfer) gave the estate its name shortly after it was completed. According to the new masterplan, which won a prize in the 2006 competition, the garden-city character of the quarter should be preserved as an outstanding quality. Only four underground stations away from Munich’s Central Station, a dense, inner-city housing area was created within a decade, retaining its character through a mixture of various blocks of flats and existing terrace houses, open spaces and traffic-calmed streets. In Bad-Schachener-Strasse, a new six-storey block designed by zillerplus architects marks the southern edge of the estate. This high, yellow building protects the centre of the estate from traffic noise and improves the infrastructure with tis retail shopping areas. Beneath the different new buildings, arranged in separate blocks and terraces and designed by various architects, are the underground garages for the inhabitants. The green open spaces between the buildings were preserved and opened to the public – they form the lively heart of the neighbourhood.

Anyone entering the Maikäfersiedlung today is struck by the many loggias, terraces, balconies and gardens that open up the flats to the green spaces. Despite the increase in demand for living space, there are just as many people living on the estate as when it was first built. Living quality and urban density do not have to be mutually exclusive. Sometimes they can work together to form a harmonious unity.


Project data

Location:

Development of the new Maikäfersiedlung, Munich

with Burkhardt Landschaftsarchitekten, München

Client:

GWG - Städtische Wohnungsgesellschaft München mbH (municipal housing society)

Competition:

Competition 1st prize, 2001

Area:

12.4 HA, gross floor space, residential: 108,500 m², commerce and infrastructure: 3,500 m², 1,150 living units, floor-space ratio: 1.01

Architectural service:

HOAI B-Plan phases 1-4

Bewahrung und Entwicklung

Häuser, Wohnungen, Gärten, Infrastruktur: Die Transformation der Maikäfersiedlung

Konzept

Was tun, wenn Wohnsiedlungen in die Jahre kommen, dringend nachverdichtet und modernisiert werden müssen? Die Maikäfersiedlung in München – ein über 12 Hektar großes Areal im Süden der Stadt – ist ein Musterbeispiel für die Umsetzung dieser städtebaulichen Herausforderung. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Wohnungsbaugesellschaft und den Mietern entstand in rund 10 Jahren ein lebendiges Stadtquartier, das sich durch seine Dichte und Vielfalt auszeichnet. Der städtebauliche Rahmenplan für die Siedlung von zillerplus Architekten legte die Basis für die Neustrukturierung und ihre Neubauten. Leitmotiv war dabei stets die Wohn- und Lebensqualität zu verbessern.

Ausgangslage der Planung war eine Wohnanlage aus den 1930er-Jahren, die sich durch kleine Nutzgärten auszeichnete. Die hohe Dichte an Maikäfern gab der Siedlung kurz nach der Fertigstellung ihren Namen. Mit dem neuen Masterplan, der im Wettbewerb 2006 prämiert wurde, sollte der Gartenstadtcharakter des Quartiers als eine herausragende Qualität beibehalten werden. Nur vier U-Bahnstationen vom Münchner Hauptbahnhof entfernt, entstand innerhalb einer Dekade ein dichtes, zentrumsnahes Wohnquartier, das durch seine Mischung aus verschiedenen Geschosswohnungsneubauten und Bestandsreihenhäusern, Freiflächen und verkehrsberuhigten Straßen einen eigenen Charakter erhält. An der Bad-Schachener-Straße säumt ein sechs Stockwerke hoher Eckneubau nach dem Entwurf von zillerplus Architekten den südlichen Rand des Wohnquartiers. Der hohe gelbe Baukörper schützt den Siedlungskern vor dem Verkehrslärm und verbessert die Infrastruktur durch Einzelhandelsflächen. Unter den verschiedenen Neubauten, die sich in einzelne Blöcke und Häuserzeilen gliedern und von verschiedenen Architekten entworfen wurden, liegen die Tiefgaragen der Bewohner. Die grünen Freiflächen zwischen den Häusern wurden beibehalten und für die Gemeinschaft geöffnet – sie bilden das lebendige Zentrum des Viertels.

Wer heute in die Maikäfersiedlung kommt, dem fallen die vielen Loggien, Terrassen, Balkone und Gärten auf, welche die Wohnungen auf die grünen Flächen öffnen. Trotz des gestiegenen Wohnflächenbedarfs gibt es heute genauso viele Bewohner in der Siedlung wie zu ihrer Entstehungszeit. Lebensqualität und urbane Dichte müssen sich nicht ausschließen. Manchmal finden sie zueinander und bilden eine stimmige Einheit.


Projektdaten:

Ort:

Bebauungsplan der neuen Maikäfersiedlung, München

mit Burkhardt Landschaftsarchitekten, München

Bauherr:

GWG - Städtische Wohnungsgesellschaft München mbH

Wettbewerb:

Wettbewerb 1. Preis, 2001

Fläche:

12,4 HA, BGF Wohnen 108.500 m², Gewerbe und Infrastruktur 3.500 m², 1.150 Wohneinheiten, GFZ 1,01

Leistung:

HOAI B-Plan LP 1-4