Osterbrook Courtyards

Building with people, for people and for the city – the residential street as democratic meeting place

A district with the focus on open spaces in which people like to meet and spend time. A district linked to the surrounding city, open for developments in mobility and continuing digitalisation. Embedded in a robust, simple urban environment, which uses good materials and simple technology to cultivate a durable setting for urban life.

The street represents a meeting place and space for living and communication. Here, the residents can design parts of the area themselves. They are invited to get together to create a feeling of responsibility towards the environment and involvement in society. Familiarity with their own surroundings and atmosphere: the street as a living room, as a transition between the town and their own home, as a vibrant location of collaborative togetherness.

Free space as the key to simple urban development. A sensitive balance between public and private characterises the district and how it is divided into semi-public gardens with lawns as buffer zones, paths and an opening to the park, which contains freely usable areas for games and sunbathing, and traffic-free lanes that create connections. The near-natural park provides a link to the water, almost unique to the area. A path along the newly accessible bank has steps and canal terraces leading down to the water.

Planning refers on a large scale to qualities of traditional Hamburg housing and reacts on a small scale to building in Hamm. The surrounding heterogeneous construction offers a chance to expand from housing to district levels. Shops, a neighbourhood café, nurseries, the public park at the water’s edge and the sport and leisure areas make a hospitable, durable and stable living area out of the mixed district.


Project data

Location:

Wendenstraße Hamburg

Client:

Hamburg Team Gesellschaft für Projektentwicklung mbH, Hamburg, SAGA Siedlungs-Aktiengesellschaft, Hamburg

Competition:

Urban and open space planning survey report 2019, 1st prize

Together with grabner huber lipp Landschaftsarchitekten und Stadtplaner

Area:

3.8 HA, GFA 78,500 m², 840 residential units, district-café, 2 nurseries, senior center, retail, 2 sports grounds, sports and excercise center with swimming pool, underground garage

For further Information please visit: www.osterbrookhoefe.de

Empathisch, Klar und Sparsam: Osterbrookhöfe

Bauen mit Menschen, für Menschen und für die Stadt – Die Wohnstraße als demokratischer Begegnungsraum

Ein Quartier mit dem Fokus auf Räumen, in denen sich Menschen gerne begegnen und aufhalten. Ein Quartier in Verbindung zur umliegenden Stadt, offen für Entwicklungen der Mobilität und fortschreitenden Digitalisierung. Eingebettet in einen robusten, einfachen städtebaulichen Rahmen, der mit guten Materialien und einfacher Technik ein dauerhaftes Umfeld für städtisches Leben kultiviert.

Die Gasse stellt Treffpunkt, Lebens- und Kommunikationsraum dar. Hier können die Bewohner Teile der Flächen selbst gestalten. Sie werden zu einem Miteinander aufgefordert, um ein Gefühl der Verantwortung gegenüber der Umgebung und ein Engagement für die Gesellschaft zu bewirken. Vertrautheit mit dem eigenen Umfeld und Atmosphäre: die Gasse als Wohnstube, als Übergang zwischen Stadt und eigener Wohnung, als lebendiger Ort des gemeinschaftlichen Miteinanders.

Der Freiraum als Schlüssel zu einem einfachen Städtebau. Ein feinfühliges Austarieren in Öffentlich und Privat prägt das Quartier in halböffentliche Gartenhöfe mit Rasenflächen als Pufferzonen, Wegen und einer Öffnung zum Park, in denen sich frei nutzbare Spiel- und Liegewiesen befinden und in verkehrsfreie Gassen, die Verbindungen schaffen. Der naturnahe Park schafft eine für die Gegend fast einzigartige Verbindung zum Wasser. Über einen Weg am neu zugänglichen Ufer gelangt man über Stufen und Kanalterrassen ans Wasser.

Die Planung bezieht sich großräumig auf Qualitäten des traditionellen Hamburger Wohnungsbaus und reagiert kleinräumig auf die Bebauung in Hamm. Die umliegende heterogene Bebauung bietet dabei die Chance, sich mit dem Wohnungsbau zu einem Quartiersgedanken zu erweitern. Läden, ein Quartierscafé, Kindertagesstätten, der öffentliche Park am Wasser und die Sport- und Freizeitflächen machen aus dem gemischten Quartier einen lebenswerten, dauerhaften und stabilen Lebensraum.


Projektdaten

Ort:

Wendenstraße Hamburg

Bauherr:

Hamburg Team Gesellschaft für Projektentwicklung mbH, Hamburg, SAGA Siedlungs-Aktiengesellschaft, Hamburg

Wettbewerb:

städtebaulich-freiraumplanerisches Gutachterverfahren 2019 - 1. Preis

Mit grabner huber lipp Landschaftsarchitekten und Stadtplaner

Fläche:

ca. 3,8 ha, BGF 78.500 m² , ca. 840 Wohneinheiten, Quartiers-Café, 2 KiTas, Altenzentrum, Einzelhandel, 2 Sportplätze, Sport- und Bewegungszentrum mit Quartiersbad, TG

For further Information please visit: www.osterbrookhoefe.de