Three courtyards – two houses – one association

New buildings in Klingerstrasse in Munich

“How to live together?” is the question we ask every time we design housing facilities. We see the state-of-the-art innovation in the design in the blending of housing types and social ways of life regarding age, origin and economic status. Thus the holistic approach of the large scale of the courtyard is the quality of the design, which needs no further huge gesture but merely a cautious elaboration.

For us it is “love at second sight” that brings out the effect of the courtyard and ensures a durable sustainability. This is supported by the location near to the Partnachplatz underground station, the Westpark and the River Isar.

 

An autonomous proportionality is achieved by the mainly four-storey height, large-format windows and a stucco façade. We see this in the sense of quotations and references that create a connection to Munich and to the late 19th Century residential districts and form recognisable addresses.

An expression of modesty of design elements – well-known elements specifically combined – is paired with a high quality of living: the apartments get generous, well-proportioned room situations and an arrangement of the open spaces towards the courtyards as a “green room”. The representative entrances and staircases are almost all arranged economically in threes or fours. Every staircase leads to a mixture of living forms, and apartments situated on top of each other are executed identically for economic reasons.

Site plan

Urban construction + inclusion

All apartments are barrier-free. The houses are connected by a clearly arranged, barrier-free, common underground garage for cars and bikes. The parking spaces and storerooms are allocated to the house entrances. Access to the garage for bikes is via a lift, which also provides barrier-free access to the garage for the building’s inhabitants. The garage is reached from Klingerstrasse, which means that the courtyards remains traffic-free.

Energy concept, thermal insulation

The starting point for us to achieve the EnEV Standard is an ecological heating system (a heating plant with renewable raw materials or district heating), combined with an ecologically, properly insulated façade and low-temperature underfloor heating. This should be supplemented by an appropriate technology – not as an end in itself – with a decentralised ventilation system via the bathrooms and back-flow via the individual rooms and the façade, as well as an optimization of savings in fresh water. The back-flow of extracted air takes place by means of window rebate ventilators.

Summer heat insulation will be provided and accounted for by self-shading, storage mass, window area proportion and external textile solar protection by means of thermic simulation. The building materials are chosen according to an ecological overall view in the building’s lifecycle.

Open space

The succinct urban figure opens up free spaces that form independent, high-quality areas of strong character. At the same time, the open spaces encourage a link to the environment.

The inner courtyard serves as a communal green space with many different opportunities for play and leisure for all occupants. The main connections through the residential block cross the large meadow area. Groups of trees cast shade that structures the courtyard for games and leisure. In the treatment of surfaces, emphasis was placed on keeping ground sealing as low as possible, and roof areas are extensively greened to retain precipitation.


Project data

Location:

New living accommodation / densification in Klingerstrasse in Munich

with fischer heumann Landschaftsarchitekten, München

Client:

Wohnungsgenossenschaft München Süd e.G. (housing association)

Area:

Gross floor space, residential: 6,215 m²; gross floor space, administration: 420 m², 56 apartments, underground garage with space for 67 cars and 150 bikes

Architectural service:

HOAI phases 1-2 (2015)

Drei Höfe - Zwei Häuser - Eine Genossenschaft

Ein Neubau in der Klingerstraße in München

„Wie Zusammen Leben?“ ist die Frage, die wir uns bei jeder Aufgabe im Wohnungsbau stellen. Die zeitgemäße Innovation bei dem Entwurf sehen wir in der Durchmischung der Wohnformen und sozialen Lebensformen in Bezug auf Alter, Herkunft und ökonomischem Status. So ist der ganzheitliche Ansatz der Großform des Hofes im Zusammenhang mit dem Bestand die Qualität des Entwurfes, der keiner weiteren großen Geste, sondern einer behutsamen Ausarbeitung bedarf.

Für uns ist es die „Liebe auf den zweiten Blick“ die den gesamten Hof wirken lässt und eine dauerhafte Nachhaltigkeit sichert. Die Lage nahe an der U-Bahn Partnachplatz, dem Westpark und der Isar unterstützt dies.

 

Eine eigenständige Maßstäblichkeit erfolgt über die hauptsächlich viergeschossige Höhe, großformatige Fenster und eine Putzfassade. Wir sehen dies im Sinne von Zitaten und Bezügen, die eine Verbindung zu München und den Wohnvierteln der Jahrhundertwende herstellen und erkennbare Adressen bilden.

Ein Ausdruck der Bescheidenheit der Gestaltungselemente – bekannte Elemente spezifisch kombiniert – wird gepaart mit einer hohen Wohnqualität: Die Wohnungen erhalten großzügige und gut proportionierte Raumsituationen und eine Zuordnung der Freibereiche zum Hof als „grüne Zimmer“. Die repräsentativen Eingänge und Treppenhäuser sind fast alle wirtschaftlich als 3- oder 4-Spänner angelegt. An jedem Treppenhaus erfolgt eine Mischung der Wohnformen, übereinander liegende Wohnungen sind aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen identisch ausgeführt.

Lageplan

Städtebau + Inklusion

Alle Wohnungen sind barrierefrei erreichbar. Über eine übersichtliche und barrierefreie, gemeinsame Tiefgarage für PKW und Fahrräder werden die Häuser verbunden. Die Stellplätze und Abstellräume sind den Hauszugängen zugeordnet. Der Zugang zur TG für Fahrräder erfolgt über einen Aufzug, der auch die Barrierefreiheit der TG für Nutzer der Bestandsbauten herstellt. Die Zufahrt zur TG erfolgt von der Klingerstraße aus, so bleibt der Hof verkehrsfrei.

Energiekonzept, Wärmeschutz

Ausgangspunkt, um den EnEV-Standard zu erreichen, ist für uns eine ökologische Wärmeversorgung (Heizzentrale mit nachwachsenden Rohstoffen oder Fernwärme) kombiniert mit einer wirtschaftlich sinnvoll gedämmten Fassade und einer Niedertemperatur-Flächenheizung im Fußbodenaufbau. Dazu eine angemessene und nicht zum Selbstzweck werdende Technik mit einem dezentralen Abluftsystem über die Bäder und Nachströmung über die Individualräume und die Fassade sowie eine Optimierung der Einsparung von Frischwasser. Die Nachströmung der abgesaugten Luft erfolgt über Fensterfalzlüfter.

Der sommerliche Wärmeschutz wird unter Berücksichtigung von Eigenverschattung, Speichermasse, Fensterflächenanteil und außenliegenden, textilen Sonnenschutz mittels einer thermischen Simulation nachgewiesen. Die Baustoffe werden entsprechend einer ökologischen Gesamtbetrachtung im Lebenszyklus des Gebäudes ausgewählt.

 

Freiraum

Die prägnante städtebauliche Figur eröffnet Freiflächen, welche innerhalb des neuen Quartiers eigenständige, qualitätsvolle und charakterstarke Räume bilden. Gleichzeitig fördern die Freiräume die Anbindung an die Umgebung.

Der Innenhof dient als Gemeinschaftsgrünraum mit vielfältigen Spiel- und Aufenthaltsangeboten für die Gesamtheit der Hausbewohner. Die Hauptverbindungen durch den Wohnblock queren die große Wiesenfläche. Schatten spendende Baumgruppen strukturieren den Hof für Spiel und Aufenthalt. Bei der Behandlung der Oberflächen wird auf einen möglichst geringen Versiegelungsgrad Wert gelegt, die Dachflächen sind zur Rückhaltung des Niederschlagswassers extensiv begrünt.


Projektdaten

Ort:

Wohnungs-Neubau/Nachverdichtung in der Klingerstrasse in München

mit fischer heumann Landschaftsarchitekten, München

Bauherr:

Wohnungsgenossenschaft München Süd e.G.

Fläche:

BGF Wohnen 6.215 m², BGF Verwaltung 420 m², 56 Wohnungen, TG mit 67 PKW und 150 Fahrrädern

Leistung:

HOAI LP 1-2 (2015)