Combining + connecting

How to live together? New housing in Hamburg

concept

“How to live together?” is the question we ask every time we design housing facilities. And how to develop and implement positive visions of living together, and what contribution is made by architecture and urban planning. Housing development has once again become a politically vital subject – and we see it as a chance to work intensively on the programme, the typology and the context.

The collaboration of the relevant parties in the sense of the “social design” and a mixture regarding age, origin and economic status combined with a mix of utilisations seems to us to be the key in the sponsoring of the competition and the two cooperatives. This results in a building that on the basis of the sponsorship cannot evade the growing economisation of housing development – but can at least modify it. The crucial element here is the self-efficacy of the participants and thus the chance to create housing that is more diverse, more appropriate to needs, and less conventional, and therefore to create housing that is atmospherically and economically reasonable.

Site plan

The example: Hamburg’s HafenCity

As a prime example of integrated urban development, HafenCity offers the chance for discussion and propagation to find transformations to the everyday life of other housing development areas.

 

Urban development

Thanks to our decision to directly accept the stringent building shape of the urban development concept, the building should support the idea of Hamburg’s castles as a contiguous urban-development band and integrate itself into the situation cautiously and modestly. The resulting structure will include many corner apartments with very good views and exposure to light, whose qualities will be highlighted in the apartments. The interweaving of residential and usage forms will also be made visible in the façade design. The two sides – an avenue to the south and a waterfront to the north – each have their own qualities: above all a “flirt” with the water houses makes the situation exceptional.

Ground floor

Logistics and structure

Two addresses – one household – one house: fluwog and altoba each get their own addresses and staircases. A foyer and a roof terrace were created as common connecting elements.

The commercial units are arranged consistently along the Baakenallee: in this way, the building also serves its surroundings and the neighbourhood. To make the underground garage attractive and efficient, it is concentrated in the 2nd underground level. The car ramp that leads directly to it creates space for bikes and storerooms in the 1st underground level when approached from Petersenkai. The simple technical arrangement of Triplex parking units optimises the number of parking spaces and the economic efficiency.

North view

Façade and materiality

From our point of view, a modesty in the façade corresponds to the building task: a dual materiality (light-coloured bricks and rendered bricks in combination with glass) in two façade levels and the associated relief effect. This effect is reinforced by the horizontal layering of the building with a public ground-floor zone and a two-part residential use. A massive appearance and low-lying, upright window formats lead to self-shading and liveliness in the façade and thus to a “powerful modesty”.

Energy concept, heat insulation, sound insulation

The starting-point for us is the district heating connection in order to achieve the Gold Standard, plus an appropriate technology – not as an end in itself – with a ventilation system with thermal recovery and grey water usage. Summer heat insulation will be provided and accounted for by self-shading, storage mass, window area proportion and glass railing made of solar control glass by means of thermal simulation.

We see the innovation in this building in the blending of functions and the opportunities for social contact. Thus the holistic approach is the quality of the house, which needs no huge gesture but merely a cautious elaboration. Ultimately, for us it is “love at second sight” that gives the building a friendly and likeable effect and ensures a durable sustainability.


Project Data

Location:

Hamburg

with Hunk+Lorenz Landschaftsarchitekten, Hamburg

Client:

Altonaer Spar- und Bauverein eG und Baugenossenschaft FLUWOG-NORDMARK eG, Hamburg

Area:

BGF Wohnen 4.900 m², BGF Gewerbe + Gemeinschaft 310 m², 54 Wohnungen, TG mit 79 PKW und 141 Fahrrädern

Date of completion:

Realisation competition 2015, Baakenhafen, Hafencity Hamburg

Architectural service:

Realisation competition

Site plan

Ground floor

North view

Section

Verknüpfen + Verbinden

Wie Zusammen Leben? Neubau Wohnbebauung in Hamburg

Konzept

„Wie Zusammen Leben?“ ist die Frage, die wir uns bei jedem Entwurf im Wohnungsbau stellen. Wie wir positive Visionen des Zusammenlebens entwickeln und umsetzen können, welchen Beitrag Architektur und Stadtplanung dabei spielen. Nun ist der Wohnungsbau wieder zu einem politisch zentralen Thema geworden – und das sehen wir als Chance, um intensiv an dem Programm, an der Typologie und an dem Kontext zu arbeiten.

Die Mitwirkung der Beteiligten im Sinne des „Social Design“ und einer Mischung in Bezug auf Alter, Herkunft und ökonomischem Status gepaart mit einer Nutzungsmischung scheinen uns bei der Auslobung des Wettbewerbs und den zwei Genossenschaften der Schlüssel zu sein. So ergibt sich ein Gebäude, das sich aufgrund der Trägerschaft der zunehmenden Ökonomisierung des Wohnungsbaus zwar nicht entziehen – diese aber relativieren kann. Prägendes Element dabei die Selbstwirksamkeit der Beteiligten und damit die Chance, vielfältiger, bedarfsgerechter und weniger an den Standardbildern entlang zu bauen und somit atmosphärisch und wirtschaftlich angemessenen Wohnraum zu schaffen.

Lageplan

Vorbild HafenCity

Die HafenCity als Musterbeispiel für einen integrierten Städtebau bietet die Chance für eine Diskussion und eine Verbreitung, um Übersetzungen in den Alltag anderer Neubaugebiete finden zu können.

 

Städtebau

Durch unsere Entscheidung, die strenge Baukörperform des städtebaulichen Konzeptes direkt zu übernehmen, soll das Gebäude die Idee der Hamburger Burgen als zusammenhängendes städtebauliches Band unterstützen und sich behutsam und bescheiden in die Situation eingliedern. Daraus ergeben sich strukturell viele Eckwohnungen mit sehr guten Blicken und Belichtungen, deren Qualitäten in den Wohnungen herausgearbeitet werden. Die Verwebung der Wohn- und Nutzungsformen wird auch in der Fassadengestaltung ablesbar gemacht. Die zwei Seiten – Allee im Süden und Waterfront im Norden haben jeweils eigene Qualitäten, vor allem ein „Flirt“ mit den Wasserhäusern macht die Situation außergewöhnlich.

Erdgeschoss

Logistik und Struktur

Zwei Adressen – eine Hausgemeinschaft – ein Haus: fluwog und altoba erhalten jeweils eigene Adressen und Treppenhäuser. Als gemeinsame Verbindungselemente sind ein Foyer und eine Dachterrasse entstanden.

Konsequent entlang der Baakenallee angeordnet gibt es die Gewerbeeinheiten : So dient das Gebäude auch seiner umgebenden Bebauung und der Nachbarschaft. Um die Tiefgarage attraktiv und effizient zu gestalten, ist diese im 2. UG zusammengefasst. Die direkte PKW-Rampe dorthin schafft Platz für Fahrräder und Abstellräume im 1. UG vom Petersenkai aus. Die einfache technische Anordnung der Triplexparker optimiert die Stellplatzanzahl und Wirtschaftlichkeit.

Nordansicht

Fassade und Materialität

Eine Bescheidenheit in der Fassade entspricht aus unserer Sicht der Bauaufgabe:  eine duale Materialität (heller Ziegel und geschlämmter Ziegel in Verbindung mit Glas) in zwei Fassadenebenen und der damit verbundenen Reliefwirkung. Diese Wirkung wird verstärkt durch die horizontale Schichtung des Gebäudes mit öffentlicher Erdgeschoßzone und zweigeteilter Wohnnutzung. Eine massive Erscheinung und tief liegende, stehende Fensterformate führen zu einer Eigenverschattung und Lebendigkeit in der Fassade und damit zu einer „kraftvollen Bescheidenheit“.

Energiekonzept, Wärmeschutz, Schallschutz

Ausgangspunkt für uns ist der Fernwärmeanschluss, um den Gold Standard zu erreichen, dazu eine angemessene und nicht zum Selbstzweck werdende Technik mit einem Lüftungssystem mit Wärmerückgewinnung und eine Grauwassernutzung. Der sommerliche Wärmeschutz wird unter Berücksichtigung der Eigenverschattung, Speichermasse, Fensterflächenanteil und Glasgeländer aus Sonnenschutzglas mittels einer thermischen Simulation nachgewiesen.

Die Innovation bei dem Gebäude sehen wir in der Durchmischung der Funktionen und der sozialen Kontaktmöglichkeiten. So ist der ganzheitliche Ansatz die Qualität des Hauses, die keiner großen Geste sondern einer behutsamen Ausarbeitung bedarf. Schlussendlich ist es für uns die „Liebe auf den zweiten Blick“, die das Gebäude sympathisch wirken lässt und eine dauerhafte Nachhaltigkeit sichert.


Projektdaten

Ort:

Hamburg

mit Hunk+Lorenz Landschaftsarchitekten, Hamburg

Bauherr:

Altonaer Spar- und Bauverein eG und Baugenossenschaft FLUWOG-NORDMARK eG, Hamburg

Fläche:

BGF Wohnen 4.900 m², BGF Gewerbe + Gemeinschaft 310 m², 54 Wohnungen, TG mit 79 PKW und 141 Fahrrädern

Fertigstellung:

Realisierungswettbewerb, 2015, Baakenhafen, Hafencity Hamburg

Leistung:

Realisierungswettbewerb

Lageplan

Erdgeschoss

Nordansicht

Schnitt