On the trail ... in the course of time

Existing stock as the basis of a reinterpretation of the Haldensee district

Urban development and landscape planning competition
Residential area in Haldenseestrasse in Munich

The intention is to further develop the existing qualities of the Haldenseestrasse area. Green courtyards alternate with traffic-free access roads: a successive restructuring on the old tracks. The side-effect is that this makes the building phases easy to divide up and define. A number of contemporary micro-flats on the site also reminds one of the thinking that led to the creation of the existing buildings.

The identity of the area is formed by the special open space qualities directly next to each house (the stairwells on the ground floor connect the courtyard to the road) as well as a comprehensive, consistent building structure that also receives a timelessness from the existing trees. The generous green spaces form an atmospheric link to the north side of Bad-Schachener-Strasse, the Maikäfersiedlung. A continuous internal pathway system establishes the togetherness of the area and creates a logical connection out to the surrounding parks and green axes. The generously sized public spaces are green, and private green spaces are to be found along the houses and on the roofs.

A symbolism arises from a conscious changing of roof shapes and a profiling with saddleback roofs and flat roofs along the area boundaries, and the different orientations and building depths and roof shapes enable different dwelling typologies and forms of ownership. Noise protection is mostly passive and is provided by a seamless development along the edges and building depths, which enable an orientation of the recreation rooms away from the road.

The open-space structure of the area is based on 3 basic types: “road”, “square” and “courtyard”. Since the underground garages are accessed from the surrounding streets, the whole area is just about free from individual traffic. The “road space” forms the address, is again a space for communication and informal play. A succession of public, mostly green spaces runs through the whole area and connects its internal street and courtyard spaces as well as the infrastructure facilities and creates the link with the road and green space system of the urban surroundings (Maikäfersiedlung, Echardinger Anger, Ostpark). The main focus here is on the square and the green on the east side, around which the community facilities are grouped. The courtyards, which are clearly formulated by the building structure, represent with their valuable old trees the “green capital” of the area. To preserve the generous, almost park-like character, relatively small private terrace areas supplemented by roof terraces and gardens are assigned to the ground-floor apartments. The courtyards thus contain large, contiguous green spaces that are available for use as community play and quiet zones and, if required, for community gardens. The boundaries between “public” and so-called “private” green spaces are practically abolished.

Our wish is flexibility in density – more living than desired is possible, which leads to design possibilities in object planning. The size of the area would suggest a local energy network. District heating is supplemented by energy harvesting (electricity and heat) on the saddleback roofs as well as by intelligent internal networking and storage. Electrical storage, for example, could be effected by electromobility and electricity filling stations for car-sharing groups and in the underground garages, and summer peak heat levels could be used for air-conditioning in the shops.

Good public access is augmented by a mobility concept, which means that the required number of parking spaces is open to discussion during the development planning procedure.

excerpt of the jury’s statement:

“The urban-planning concept of the design is derived by the architects as it were in accordance with the laws of nature from the history of the place and the existing buildings. The district is divided into large crescents that follow the footprint of the existing housing estate. The raising of the urban density prescribed in the regional planning programme is achieved largely by deeper buildings – a perfectly plausible development of the estate. With the zoning of the building site according to the classical principle ‘street – apartment – courtyard’, it is possible to combine the housing-estate typology with the formation rule of classical European urban districts. In future, the place will not be characterised by housing rows surrounded on all sides by open spaces, but rather by rows of buildings that line a curved, interesting street. A convincing urbanistic concept: every dwelling will receive an address in well-proportioned public space, every dwelling will participate in a generous and green inner courtyard. The simple clarity of the district’s layout is equalled by its viability, which will prove itself in the long-term implementation process. The architects’ decision to place the underground garages consistently under the buildings and the streets, which are sealed anyway, makes it possible to preserve a large number of existing trees.
The clear urban order is opened up by a series of public green spaces, which are intended to create an open-space connection between Krumbadstrasse and the underground railway station Michaelibad. …”


Project data

Location:

Haldenseestrasse, Bad-Schachener-Strasse, Munich

with Lex-Kerfers Landschaftsarchitekten, Emling

Client:

GWG – Städtische Wohnungsgesellschaft München mbH (municipal housing society)

Architectural service:

Competition prize group 2015, 1. Prize 2016, revision 2016

Auf den Spuren ... im Wandel der Zeit

Der Bestand als Grundlage für eine Neuinterpretation des Haldenseequartiers

Städtebaulicher und landschaftsplanerischer Planungswettbewerb
Wohnquartier rund um die Haldenseestraße in München

Die vorhandenen Qualitäten des Quartiers an der Haldenseestraße gilt es weiter zu entwickeln. Grüne Höfe wechseln sich mit verkehrsfreien Erschließungsstraßen ab: eine sukzessive Umstrukturierung auf den alten Spuren. Der Nebeneffekt ist, dass so die Bauabschnitte leicht zu unterteilen und abzugrenzen sind. Auch ein zeitgemäßes Angebot von Mikrowohnungen im Quartier erinnert an den Entstehungsgedanken des Bestandes.

Die Identität des Quartiers ergibt sich über die besonderen Freiraumqualitäten direkt an jedem Haus (die Treppenräume verbinden im EG Straße und Hof) sowie eine übergreifende, durchgängige Gebäudestruktur, die zusätzlich über die Bestandsbäume eine Zeitlosigkeit erhält. Die großzügigen Grünräume bilden eine atmosphärische Verbindung zur Nordseite der Bad-Schachener-Straße, der Maikäfersiedlung.

Eine zusammenhängende, innere Durchwegung schafft den Zusammenhang des Quartiers und eine logische Verbindung nach außen zu den umliegenden Parks und Grünachsen. Die großzügigen öffentlichen Räume sind allgemeines Grün, Privatgrün entsteht entlang den Häusern und auf den Dächern. Eine Zeichenhaftigkeit entsteht über einen bewussten Wechsel der Dachformen bzw. eine Profilierung mit Satteldächern und Flachdächern entlang der Quartiersgrenzen, die verschiedenen Ausrichtungen und Gebäudetiefen sowie Dachformen ermöglichen verschiedene Wohntypologien und Eigentumsformen. Der Lärmschutz erfolgt hauptsächlich passiv über eine geschlossene Bebauung entlang der Ränder und Gebäudetiefen, die eine Orientierung der Aufenthaltsräume weg von der Straße ermöglichen.

Die Freiraumstruktur des Quartiers beruht auf 3 Grundtypen: „Straße“, „Platz“ und „Hof“. Durch die Erschließung der Tiefgaragen von den umliegenden Straßen aus, ist das ganze Gebiet quasi frei vom motorisierten Individualverkehr. Der „Straßenraum“ bildet die Adresse, ist wieder Kommunikations- und informeller Spielraum. Eine Abfolge öffentlicher, überwiegend grün geprägter Platzräume durchzieht das Quartier und verbindet die quartiersinternen Straßen- und Hofräume sowie die Infrastruktureinrichtungen und stellt die Verknüpfung mit dem Straßen- und Grünflächensystem des städtischen Umfeldes her (Maikäfersiedlung, Echardinger Anger, Ostpark). Den Schwerpunkt bilden hier Platz und Anger im Osten, um die die Gemeinschaftseinrichtungen gruppiert sind. Die durch die Baustruktur eindeutig formulierten Höfe stellen mit ihrem wertvollen Baumbestand das „grüne Kapital“ des Quartiers dar. Um den großzügigen, fast parkartigen Charakter zu erhalten, werden den Erdgeschoss-Wohnungen relativ knapp bemessene private Terrassenbereiche zugeordnet, die durch Dachterrassen und -gärten ergänzt werden. Somit stehen in den Höfen große, zusammenhängend nutzbare Grünflächen für gemeinschaftliche Spiel- und Ruhezonen sowie bei entsprechendem Bedarf Gemeinschaftsgärten zur Verfügung. Die Grenzen zwischen „öffentlichen“ und so genannten „privaten“ Grünflächen werden praktisch aufgehoben.

Wir wünschen uns eine Flexibilität in der Dichte – Mehr Wohnfläche als gewünscht ist möglich, was zu Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten bei der Objektplanung führt. Die Größe des Quartiers legt ein lokales Energienetz nahe. Die Fernwärme wird ergänzt durch Energieernte (Strom und Wärme) auf den Satteldächern sowie einer intelligenten internen Vernetzung und Speicherung. Die elektrische Speicherung könnte z. B. mittels Elektromobilität und Elektrotankstellen beim Car-Sharing und in den Tiefgaragen geschehen, sommerliche Wärmespitzen für die Kühlung bei den Läden verwendet werden.

Die gute öffentliche Erschließung wird durch ein Mobilitätskonzept ergänzt, somit kann im Laufe des Bebauungsplanverfahrens die erforderliche Stellplatzanzahl noch verhandelt werden.

Auszug aus dem Juryprotokoll:

“Die städtebauliche Idee des Entwurfs wird von den Verfassern gleichsam naturgesetzlich aus der Geschichte des Ortes und dem Gebäudebestand abgeleitet. Das Quartier gliedert sich in große Bögen, die dem Fußabdruck der bestehenden Siedlung folgen. Die im Raumprogramm vorgegebene Erhöhung der städtebaulichen Dichte wird vorrangig durch tiefere Gebäudekörper erreicht – eine durchaus plausible Weiterentwicklung der Siedlung. Mit der Zonierung des Baugebiets nach dem klassischen Prinzip “Straße – Wohnung – Hof” gelingt es, die Siedlungstypologie mit dem Bildungsgesetz klassischer europäischer Stadtquartiere zu verbinden. Nicht die allseitig vom Freiraum umspülte Zeile soll den Ort zukünftig prägen, sondern Gebäudereihen, die einen gekrümmten spannungsvollen Straßenraum begleiten. Ein stadträumlich überzeugendes Konzept: Jeder Wohnung wird eine Adresse am gut proportionierten öffentlichen Raum zuteil, jede Wohnung partizipiert an einem großzügigen und durchgrünten Innenhof. So einfach sich der Quartiersgrundriss darstellt, so tragfähig dürfte er sich im langfristig angelegten Realisierungsprozess beweisen. Die Entscheidung der Verfasser, die Tiefgaragen konsequent unter den Gebäuden und den ohnehin versiegelten Straßen anzuordnen, erlaubt es, eine große Zahl von Bestandsbäumen zu erhalten.
Die klare städtebauliche Ordnung wird durch eine Folge öffentlicher Grünflächen aufgebrochen, die eine Freiraumverbindung von der Krumbadstraße bis zur U-Bahn-Haltestelle Michaelibad herstellen soll. …”


Projektdaten

Ort:

Haldenseestraße, Bad-Schachener-Straße, München

mit Lex-Kerfers Landschaftsarchitekten, Emling

Bauherr:

GWG - Städtische Wohnungsgesellschaft München mbH

Leistung:

Wettbewerb Preisgruppe 2015, 1. Preis nach Überarbeitung 2016