Green that makes good neighbours

Living in the park: an unconventional solution with 14 houses in the Isar valley

Site plan

Competition for urban development and building construction 2013

“This entry demonstrates a high level of independence regarding urban structure and open space design. Informally arranged buildings are grouped around 3 communal areas, thus forming clearly manageable yet interconnected units. The open spaces are laid out like a park and lead one to expect pleasant openness and transparency … The offset arrangement of the privately used garden areas offers generous and relatively undisturbed residential quality. Despite the unusual and to a large extent identity-forming building structure, the whole area harmonises excellently with its environs and enriches them through a high degree of transparency and greenery.

The well-structured ground-plan typology is continued consistently through the storeys, thus promising economic viability. Some of the outer walls are slanting, which forms individual dwelling types and lends sculptural elegance to the buildings in the form of the diagonally ascending eaves. … A very positive feature is that the living rooms, situated as they are in the building’s corners, face two different directions. …

The work is a surprising and positive contribution to contemporary living, demonstrating its particular qualities in the formation of community-building activities and in the unusual building configuration in a park-like open space.” (Excerpt from the jury’s assessment in the competition of September 27, 2013)

concept

Grün Wald Haus: conversion of a detached house

The increase in cooperative housing is a contemporary topic, so in an urban context we have found a community-building and identity-encouraging motif. The buildings are situated on a traffic-free site in a scenic landscape, and the whole area thus becomes a common domain.

Starting from the classical building type of the detached house with a saddleback roof, the buildings are transformed with simple methods into a crystalline building – a villa. From today’s perspective, these compact buildings make good ecological sense and comply with cooperative philosophy and the building phases in the implementation.

 

Design concept

The shape of the building in its sculptural elegance presents itself with a rough-plastered façade and a natural beige colour. Due to the different angles of the houses, shadows have a different effect on the plaster of each house. The differences between the buildings also appear thanks to the angle of the slanting reveals to the sun. The houses clearly belong to a community or cooperative but are still slightly different from each other.

The result is a subtle play with a well-known building shape in slightly different design, just as the window openings are a well-known motif with slightly modified proportions. This playing with quotations is carried through in the tiled saddleback roof and in a discreetly applied ornamentation of plaster bands, which divide up the façade areas in different ways.


Project data

Location:

Housing development north of Oberhachinger Strasse, Munich Grünwald

with fischer heumann Landschaftsarchitekten, München

Client:

Gemeinnützige Baugenossenschaft e.G. (non-profit building society)

Competition:

1st prize, realisation competition 2013

Area:

1.8 HA, gross floor space 10,100 m², living space 9,371 m², 167 units, 1 commercial unit. KfW 55 Standard.

Construction period:

Development plan 2014/15, approval 2015, start of construction 2016

Architectural service:

HOAI phases 1-9

Site plan

Ground floor

Grün, das Nachbarn schafft

Wohnen im Park: Eine unkonventionelle Lösung mit 14 Häusern im Isartal

Lageplan

Städtebaulicher und hochbaulicher Wettbewerb 2013

„Der Beitrag weist eine hohe Eigenständigkeit im Hinblick auf die städtebauliche Struktur und die Freiraumgestaltung auf. Locker angeordnete Einzelbaukörper gruppieren sich um 3 Gemeinschaftsflächen und bilden dabei überschaubare und dennoch miteinander vernetzte Einheiten. Die Freiflächen sind parkartig angelegt und lassen eine angenehme Offenheit und Transparenz erwarten … Die versetze Anordnung der privat nutzbaren Gartenbereichen bietet großzügige und relativ ungestörte Aufenthaltsqualität. Das Gesamtgebiet fügt sich trotz der ungewöhnlichen und in hohem Maße identitätsbildende Baustruktur sehr gut in die Umgebung ein und bereichert diese durch hohe Transparenz und Durchgrünung.

Die gut strukturierte Grundrisstypologie ist über die Geschosse durchgängig ausgebildet und lässt so eine wirtschaftliche Realisierbarkeit erwarten. Die teilweise schräg angeordneten Außenwände bilden individuelle Wohnungstypen und geben in Form der schräg ansteigenden Trauflinien den Baukörpern eine skulpturale Eleganz. … Positiv fällt auf, dass die Wohnzimmer konsequent 2- seitig orientiert an den Gebäudeecken liegen. …

Die Arbeit stellt einen überraschenden und positiven Beitrag zum genossenschaftlichen Wohnen dar, der seine besonderen Qualitäten in der Bildung von gemeinschaftsfördernden Einheiten und der außergewöhnlichen Baukörperkonfiguration in einer parkartigen Freifläche herausstellt.“ (Auszug Jurybeurteilung Wettbewerb vom 27.09.2013)

Konzept

Grün Wald Haus : Umformung Einzelhaus

Die Stärkung von genossenschaftlichem Wohnen ist ein zeitgemäßes Thema und so haben wir städtebaulich ein gemeinschafts- und identitätstiftendes Motiv gefunden. Die Gebäude liegen in dem autofreien Grundstück in einer landschaftlich geprägten Art und Weise, das gesamte Terrain wird so zum Gemeingut.

Ausgehend vom klassischen Bautypus des freistehenden Hauses mit Satteldach werden die Gebäude mit einfachen Mitteln zu einem kristallinen Gebäude – einer Villa – umgeformt. Diese kompakten Gebäude sind aus heutiger Sicht ökologisch sinnvoll umsetzbar und kommen dem genossenschaftlichen Gedanken und den Bauabschnitten in der Umsetzung entgegen.

 

Gestaltkonzept

Die Baukörperform in ihrer skulpturalen Eleganz präsentiert sich mit einer rauen Putzfassade und einem beigefarbenen Naturton. Durch die verschiedene Drehung der Häuser ist die Schattenwirkung auf dem Putz auf jedem Haus anders. Die Unterschiede der Gebäude erscheinen auch durch die Ausrichtung der schrägen Laibungen zur Sonne. Die Häuser werden so als Gemeinschaft bzw. Genossenschaft eindeutig erkannt, sind aber dennoch leicht unterschiedlich.

Es entsteht so ein subtiles Spiel mit einer bekannten Baukörperform in leicht abgewandelter Form, ebenso sind die Fensteröffnungen ein bekanntes Motiv mit einer leicht abgewandelten Proportion. Dieses Spiel mit Zitaten setzt sich in dem ziegelgedeckten Satteldach und in einer dezent angewandten Ornamentik von Putzbändern fort, welche die Fassadenflächen in verschiedenster Weise untergliedern.


Projektdaten

Ort:

Wohnbebauung nördlich der Oberhachinger Straße, München Grünwald

mit fischer heumann Landschaftsarchitekten, München

Bauherr:

Gemeinnützige Baugenossenschaft e.G.

Wettbewerb:

1. Preis, Hochbaulicher Realisierungs Wettbewerb 2013

Fläche:

1,8 HA, BGF 10.100m², Wohnfläche 9.371 m², 167 WE, 1 Gewerbeeinheit. KfW 55 Standard.

Bauzeit:

Bebauungsplan 2014/15, Genehmigung 2015, Baubeginn 2016

Leistung:

HOAI LP 1-9

Lageplan

Grundriss